Caller Feature: Call Record Lost when attempting to Save over Existing Caller Record
At present, if a user associates a Caller record with an Activity, marking it as 'Done', while another user is already using Caller, the user who started their call first may attempt to associate their Caller record with that Activity, and subsequently lose all record of that event.
For clarity and context as to how we first encountered this issue, we had two users try to reach the same person approximately concurrently:
- Bob calls Person, opening a conversation with them.
- Alice calls Person, and is unable to reach them because Bob is already on the phone with them.
- Alice closes their call, associating their Caller record with an existing scheduled Activity, showing their call as lasting a few seconds with the 'No Answer' reason.
- Bob finishes their call with Person, takes their own notes in the Caller interface, and attempts to associate their Caller record with the same Activity.
- Bob's notes are appended to Alice's notes, but no new Caller record is created or overwrites Alice's caller record; the only sign of Bob's call with Person is their notes, appended to Alice's.
Naturally, this is a problem for data integrity and contact history, as well as any performance metrics.