Email history to remain in Deal when deleted in the source

Hi There,

Is there a way for the email history of a deal to stay within there once the email has been deleted from the source. 

It wouldn't need to stay in the email tab in pipedrive but the full communication history would be very helpful. 

We can archive currently but there will be a time when we need to delete emails due to storage and this means the deal will no longer show the email history. 

Thanks 

Joanne

0
0 votes

· Last Updated -

Comments

  • Hans Nieto
    Hans Nieto Posts: 42
    edited October 2020 #2

    Hi Joanne, 

    The emails do not disappear, only that when the deal becomes a lead, not everything is transferred (this includes the email), but no problem! ... the lead generates an automatic link that takes you to the old agreement in case that you require it

    I hope that is useful for you.

    Hans

  • Boris Tsibelman
    Boris Tsibelman Community Driver Posts: 1,037
    1000 Comments Second Anniversary Combo Breaker Photogenic
    edited February 24 #3

    Also - you want to make sure that your email sync isn't setup 2 way [this means that if you delete something at the source, it will delete in PD]

    You want a 1 way sync in this case 

  • Joanne Popple
    Joanne Popple Posts: 4
    edited October 2020 #4

    Thanks so much for this advice! I shall take a look at this 

  • Joanne Popple
    Joanne Popple Posts: 4
    edited October 2020 #5

    Also - you want to make sure that your email sync isn't setup 2 way [this means that if you delete something at the source, it will delete in PD]

    You want a 1 way sync in this case 

    Thanks Boris, I can't see where to change this to a 1 way sync, could you point me in the right direction?

  • Inês Batata
    Inês Batata Admin Posts: 3,155 COMMUNITY MANAGER
    2500 Comments Second Anniversary 5 Likes First Answer
    edited October 2020 #6

    Hi @Joanne Popple !

    You'll find the options below in Personal Preferences > Email Sync > Archive and Delete

    When you delete an email in its source (your Gmail, Outlook, etc) it will also disappear from Pipedrive, as what you see in Pipedrive is actual a "mirror image" of the messages that lives in your email provider.

    You can, however, decide if you want the emails to also be deleted in your provider when you delete them in Pipedrive, as highlighted in the picture below.

    image

     

    The 1-way email sync that @Boris Tsibelman mentioned above is a manual process of email sync called Smart Email BCC. Learn all about it:

    Hope that helps! If you need any further assistance please reach out to our Support team.