Set up question for a Business Broker

John Marsh_13033
John Marsh_13033 Member Posts: 27
Name Dropper First Anniversary Photogenic First Comment
edited July 2022 in Sales CRM #1

Hi everyone, I'm a business broker and my deals represent companies that I'm helping to sell. I associate my client (the seller) with each deal, but I'm struggling with associating and tracking each buyer with a deal. Buyers are often associated with multiple deals and will have a different status with each deal (i.e. "NDA not signed", "NDA signed", "interested", "not interested", etc.) I'm currently tracking this through a custom field that has the deal's name. For example, I'm selling ABC Co and have a buyer a custom filed that has"ABC Co - NI" (NI = "Not Interested")in it. That same buyer may be interested in "XYZ Co" and have a status like "XYZ Co - NDA - Yes" to show that they've signed the NDA. This won't allow me to use that custom field for templated emailing. Does anyone have any suggestions for how I might be tracking buyers and their associated deals more efficiently? Thanks in advance! 

Comments

• Brad Krause_13404
    Brad Krause_13404 Member Posts: 374
    5 Up Votes First Comment
    edited February 2022 #2

my thoughts @John Marsh 

Always create an organization for both buyers and sellers. 

Limit the organization Label field for two options. 1. Buyer 2. Seller

Created the deal in the organizations that are for sale, or selling their businesses.

Create a deal for each potential buyer under the seller organization. 

Use the deal label field for interest level. 

Custom deal detail fields:

Organization (so you can fill in the prospect buyer organization. Auto fills from existing organization in database)

Person (so you can fill in the prospect buyer person/primary person. Auto fills from existing person in database)

Single option field type :  'NDA'  Signed

• John Marsh_13033
    edited February 2021 #3

my thoughts @John Marsh