Lead vs Contact

Neil Schneider_38553
Neil Schneider_38553 Member Posts: 2
edited July 2023 in Sales CRM #1

I have been a small business owner for a while. I do not understand the difference between "lead" and "contact" as it pertains to Pipedrive CRM. I have looked for help articles and cannot find information. Most importantly, how does the differentiation:

1. Affect the way I use Pipedrive?
  2. The way I enter or upload my contacts.
  3. The way I use customize fields.
  4. Other functionality I am not thinking of.

Thank you very much. 

Comments

• Amit Sarda (AmitSarda.xyz)
    Amit Sarda (AmitSarda.xyz) Member Posts: 1,519
    First Anniversary First Answer 5 Insightfuls 5 Up Votes
    edited February 2022 #2

@Neil Schneider - At this point, if the volume of leads is manageable I would advise staying away from Leads.

You can mimic the Leads functionality by creating a 'Leads' Pipeline under Deal.

• Boris Tsibelman
    Boris Tsibelman Member Posts: 848
    5 Likes Premier Solution Provider First Anniversary First Answer
    edited January 2022 #3

@Neil Schneider - At this point, if the volume of leads is manageable I would advise staying away from Leads.

You can mimic the Leads functionality by creating a 'Leads' Pipeline under Deal.

+1 on managing it in Deals 

• Neil Schneider_39117
    Neil Schneider_39117 Member Posts: 1
    First Comment
    edited February 2022 #4

I appreciate the comments. But what is the difference? Can you elaborate on why to stay away from leads?

• Inês Batata
    Inês Batata Posts: 2,087 PIPEDRIVE TEAM
    5 Likes First Anniversary First Answer Name Dropper
    edited April 2021 #5

I appreciate the comments. But what is the difference? Can you elaborate on why to stay away from leads?

Hi @Neil Schneider ! I this this article from our Knowledge Base will help you: Leads vs Deals.